I have a whole bookcase full of books that I have not yet read. There might be 100, I’m not certain, I’ve never been brave enough to count.

I was meant to be on a book buying ban but then I visited Mr B’s Emporium of Reading Delights in Bath this week and I just couldn’t help myself: I bought six books!

Cogheart by Peter Bunzl

You Will Not Have My Hate by Antoine Leiris

Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi

Irène by Pierre Lemaître

The Girl of Ink and Stars by Kiran Millwood Hargrave

The Man Who Couldn’t Stop by David Adam

Some of these are books I have wanted to read for a while, some are new to me, all sound like brilliant pieces of writing.

I intend to read this selection in the next few weeks and hopefully many more.

I’m looking forward to a good year of reading, hopefully better than last year with more books and more genres. Who knows, I might even make my first foray into writing a novel myself. It’s something I’ve wanted to do for a while and, as they say, you’ll never know unless you try. So this year will by my year for trying.

What are your reading objectives for this year?

2 thoughts on “Too Many Books?

  1. I went through my bookshelf before the new year and realized that I have a ton of books to catch up on. I hope to get through the pile throughout the year. Happy reading!

What do you think?

